Solid Red Status Light on my Mitsubishi WD-65733

Moderator: Angel

Forum rules
BMAC

Solid Red Status Light on my Mitsubishi WD-65733

Postby BMAC » Fri Feb 28, 2014 7:26 pm

Ok I have a 6 year old Mitsubishi WD-65733 65" HDTV. In these last 6 years I have had replaced the Light Engine(replaced about 4 years ago), Chip (had spots & replaced Sept. 2013), & 3 blubs. The last time I replaced my bulb was in Dec. 2013. Everything was working fine then it seems the screen will blank out (go black) & a steady red light will come on the panel (Status Light). After about 30 sec it will turn its self back on with no problems. Now this happens at random sometimes 3 times a day or sometime none. What do you think it could be?

I think it might be the ballast but it doesn't hum or crackle or anything. Might be a fan & it over heats? I did a master reset yesterday 02-27-14 & it worked for 4 hours & then did it. Then I reset it again and watched it again for another 6 hours with no problems. I know I can fix it but don't have an idea where to start.

Thanks for the help & ideas.

Brian

BMAC

Re: Solid Red Status Light on my Mitsubishi WD-65733

Postby BMAC » Wed Mar 05, 2014 10:39 pm

Just an update.

I changed my Power ON from "Fast Power On" to "Low Power On" Seems to be working. I haven't seen the steady red light for a couple of days now.

Still wish I knew what the problem is.

Brian

grayfox
Jedi Master
Jedi Master

Re: Solid Red Status Light on my Mitsubishi WD-65733

Postby grayfox » Thu Mar 06, 2014 12:42 am

Hello BMAC,

From your trouble shooting and recent changes in power up method to "slow", a defective ballast is certainly more than possible.

However I would have to begin by asking what lamp you got this past December and from where?

Reason I ask is because there are a lot of generic bulbs out there with no warranty and these knock offs cause all types of malfunctions including the picture not being as bright.