Moderator: Angel

Forum rules
Nicco
Contributor
Contributor

Sony KDS-R70XBR2

Postby Nicco » Thu Jan 16, 2014 11:32 pm

Hello,

I find myself in deep trouble with a Sony KDS-R70XBR2. I told a friend I would try to get his TV up and running before the Super Bowl! I am self taught and have no professional training, but with the help of the ever ending internet and its DYI videos and forums, I have managed to fix all types of electronics including a couple of Projection Televisions. When it came down to fixing a Samsung and Mitsubishi DLP, I got by with help from forums and almost always got the TV up and running with a Lamp, Ballast and/or Colowheel. But this Sony uses LCD projection technology that I am having a hard time grasping, so I am stumped, here are the details:

I Replaced the lamp, put the cover back on and plugged the tv in. The standby lamp blinked green and then went into a 3 blink pattern. I noticed that the cover that screws on over the lamp wasn't attached correctly or the lamp was misaligned, so I removed the cover, pulled the lamp out. I reinserted it and put the cover on firmly and correctly, turned on the TV, and got the same blink pattern.

Should I replace the ballast and if so I have no idea how/where to find one!?

I appreciate the help.

JJP
Contributor
Contributor

Re: KDS-R70XBR2

Postby JJP » Fri Jan 17, 2014 4:22 am

Hi Nicco,

I'm new to the forum as well but have been reading some articles on the Fix Your DLP blog about the fake lamps on the market. Where did you buy your lamp? If you bought it on Amazon or ebay you may have been sold a fake lamp from a Chinese manufacturer. They claim their products are compatible and genuine but I found the one I bought didn't fit into my TV or projector properly. The problems you are having might stem from the lamp itself. Where did you buy it? I'm not an expert so maybe someone else can jump in and reply to this.

John James (JJP)

ovadoggvo
Master Technician
Master Technician

Re: Sony KDS-R70XBR2